Black Thought Recalls Brief Nas Beef

Black Thought Recalls Brief Nas Beef

The legendary Roots crew has had precious few hip hop beefs, but during a recent appearance on The Combat Jack Show, frontman Black Thought revealed that he had a brief falling out with rapper Nas. Thought says that the Queensbridge rhymer dissed his crew during an interview. “In some interview he made a comment about how wack it was for us to do the movie Bamboozled with Spike Lee and ‘How you gonna call yourself The Roots and Black Thought or something and you’re portraying a group called The Alabama Porch Monkeys in Spike Lee’s movie with the ball and chain and all,’” said Black Thought. “Nas was spazzing out on a lot of people during that point in time because he was losing his mom. He had actual beef during that time and this was just a comment he made about The Roots.”

“I hadn’t really interacted with him at all up until that point. And then there was a show one night with Talib Kweli and I think he invited Nas, and he invited me. And we were all there in the building together. I had a chance to meet Nas and he explained to me that it wasn’t coming from a personal place and he basically apologized,” Black Thought explained. “He told me he was going through it. He lost his mom. I totally relate to that, I lost my mom when I was 17. She’s a murder victim. Both my parents are murder victims, got killed in Philly.”

via:hiphopblog

 

Leave a Reply

