Eve Recalls Her Early Career With Ruff Ryders

Eve Recalls Her Early Career With Ruff Ryders

Eve had a lot to prove when she broke into hip-hop in the 1990s. In an interview with VIBE, the former Ruff Ryders First Lady talked about how she was perceived as the only woman in a male-dominated crew and how much harder those perceptions made her work. “If anything, I probably overcompensated as a woman. With dudes, you have to snatch the respect,” she said. “You earn it, gain it, snatch it. I also was adopted compared to everyone else. They’re from Harlem and Yonkers and here’s this girl from Philly, so I had to prove that I could write like them or better than them. I had to prove that I wasn’t a groupie. I did whatever I could to gain that respect and let them know I didn’t need them to carry me.”

via:hiphopblog

Leave a Reply

